Aerial view of Midland’s Tornado Damage

24 Jun

It’s been a while since my last blog post. Please don’t blame me – I’m getting married in two weeks!

(My fiance is chirping me this second for blogging instead of helping with thank you cards. Thank you cards? No thank you…I mean, I’m thankful and everything, but I think I’ll let her take care of that part.)

I got a phone call this morning from a girl at head office of Hydro One. “We’d like you to come take some pictures of the damage caused by the tornado in Midland, Ontario… From our helicopter.”

Pardon?

Yup! I heard correctly! An hour later I was at Hydro One in Midland – waiting for the rain to settle. It settled, and here are some pics from the tornado’s reckless damage. Hydro One has been working extra hard to get the hydro back up and running, and I realized today how much work is put into getting our electricity running when it’s down. Those guys are committed! And Hydro One is even going out and helping out some smaller companies who can use a hand in restoring the cities damage. When I was up there I noticed in particular the trailer park. Thankfully there were no fatalities (I have heard there is one person missing). I’m sure those people could use our prayers while they sort out what to do next.

Map of the tornado's path

Some initial structural damage from the tornado

Hydro One repairing the lines. Over 100 Hydro workers were at work to restore power to Midland and surrounding area.

...

More structural damage

...

In between the damage of man made structures, there is a clear path of trees flattened where the tornado worked it's way through.

Approaching the trailer park

Smith's Trailer Park and Camp, Midland

...

Car Dealership on King Street

Hydro lines down behind a commercial building on King Street

...And of course a picture of myself in the helicopter.

5 Responses to “Aerial view of Midland’s Tornado Damage”

  1. dennis dravel June 28, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    wow that shows it all for me im in southcarolina and dont get home much i was born in midland some well lets say along time ago and my elderly mother stays in smiths park alone and has for a vary long time i could see her house location in one of the pics and she was not in direct path she lives on the lake and went by here door step she tells me the response of everyone has been wonderfull nice photos thank you for sharing

    • colebennett June 28, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

      Hey Dennis,

      Thank you for the comment. It’s very nice to hear that someone from so far away is benefiting from seeing my images. It’s good to hear that your mother’s place wasn’t wrecked by the tornado. It must have been pretty scary even to have it so close.

  2. Niru Nirupama February 16, 2017 at 3:28 pm #

    Hi Cole, I am interested in using one of your photos of the 2010 Midland tornado coverage in a textbook I’m writing on disaster risk management. I am a professor at York University. Please advise how I can get permission to reuse the photo.
    Thank you,
    niru

    • coleportage February 16, 2017 at 11:11 pm #

      Hey Niru, I retain the rights to the images for my portfolio only. If you connect with me through my personal photography website via email, I can put you in touch with my contact at Hydro One. http://www.colebennett.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Damaging F2 Tornado Hits Midland, Ontario, June 23, 2010 - June 20, 2016

    […] Destruction at Smith’s Camp Trailer park. Image: Cole Bennett Above: A heavily damaged business on King Street. Image: Cole Bennett […]

Leave a Reply

