Pete, Sailed the Ocean Blue

6 Nov

Pete is a retired Merchant Navy crew member who has seen a lot. I’ve intended to approach him for a portrait session once or twice this year, and I finally had the chance to meet him today in down town Orillia.

I am so inspired and excited to meet unique people like Pete. It’s in meeting people who are different than me – people who have seen such drastically different aspects of life than I have- that I get truly inspired to create images – to capture insights and perspective.

For the past year or so I have been slowly building an image library of subjects with facial hair – there’s not really any reason for it, except that I like how different guys utilize facial hair to express their personality. Plus, facial hair adds character to a face, and I’m a fan of character in photographs.

Anyway, Pete has the prerequisite required to be a part of my project, and I’m glad to have him on board… no pun intended.

I’m planning to update my website in the next couple of weeks, and there will be a section for the Beard Project, if that’s something you’re interested in seeing you can hit up my website.

Thanks for looking!

– Cole


8 Responses to “Pete, Sailed the Ocean Blue”

  1. bethannhayphotography November 6, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Those are amazing images Cole!! You’ve captured him so well!

  2. Tony Pickard November 6, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    The shots are really good in capturing the character. and I really like the posing with the pipe. The movement of the smoke is really effective. I keep wanting to see black and white versions though, or maybe play with reduced saturation.

    Well done.

    • Cole Bennett, Illustrative Photographer November 6, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

      Thanks for the comments guys!

      Tony, I used a high pass filter here for the first time since the class we had utilizing it.

      I definitely considered black and whites – and did process one of ’em B&W with a little warm tone – but to keep consistency with the three images, I didn’t post it. I will likely come back to the images in the next couple days and do some B& processing with the beloved Nik filter πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for the suggestions.

      – Cole

  3. Clarice November 7, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    Cole – you’re my hero. Epic photos.

  4. Stefany Stanton November 7, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    These are amazing pics πŸ™‚ There’s sooo much character and I love where you took the pics.

Leave a Reply

