Video: Aaron Mangoff “The Best Part” Orillia Music Video Production

21 Apr

Aaron and I first discussed the possibility of making a music video back in January. I had just got my hands on the new Nikon D7000, which is capable of shooting 1080p HD video and I wanted to jump in and get my feet wet.

Well, after a very short time, the realization of the importance of planning a video shoot sunk in. After a trial run of a very half hearted and poorly thought out video, we decided we should sit down and come up with something a little more legit (with encouragement from my wife!)

So, I sat down and listened to Aaron’s song with my eyes closed, and began to piece together how the final video would look. I had the majority of the idea in my head before the song was finished playing.

And then came the part where we had to make the idea a reality.

It took 6 weeks to find the guy who could play the part in our video. I met Bill Shaw at the YMCA in Orillia and sheepishly asked if he would be interested in being in my video. He was very accommodating and even offered his home for us to do the filming. It turned out his home fit wonderfully with the direction of the shoot. As we continued to move forward in our planning, we found the two kids who would act in the video (from a call out on Facebook.)

I storyboarded the entire film on my iPhone, using an app called Cinemek Storyboard Composer. I can’t stress how valuable a storyboard was when it came down to the day of shooting. Having everything pre visualized and organized in front of me helped me stay on track with the direction of the video – and gave me the creative energy to adapt as we went.

Nekoda, our crew member on the shoot, built a home-made dolly out of skateboard wheels and PVC piping. That dolly got us some of the most important shots.

As far as equipment paired with my camera – I borrowed a 50mm 1.4, and rented a 24mm Tilt&Shift lens (that’s what we used for the flash back scenes.) The video was then edited in Final Cut Express by yours truly. It was a bit of a learning curve, using the program – but I’m glad I had an enjoyable project to work on as I learned.

If you’re interested, here’s a behind the scenes video!

Thanks for your support in being an audience – any sharing and reposting of our music video is much appreciated!

Aaron’s Album, Rest Easy will be available for download on iTunes in the next few days is available on iTunes!- and you can buy a real life version of the album directly from him. Please visit his website if you are so inclined and ask him how to get a copy.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Cole Bennett is an Orillia based Photographer & Videographer, Providing service to Orillia/ Barrie/ Midland/ Muskoka/ Gravenhurst/ Newmarket/ Aurora/ Richmond Hill and across Ontario.

5 Responses to “Video: Aaron Mangoff “The Best Part” Orillia Music Video Production”

  1. bethannhayphotography April 28, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Wow! This is very impressive Cole!

  2. Mike Sanders August 22, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Beautiful job, Cole!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Brother, Luke « - August 1, 2011

    […] my first piece, if you haven’t seen it already. Luke actually recorded the featured […]

Leave a Reply

