Ecuador: Quito in 3 Days

10 Sep

I don’t even know how to begin writing about the past three days.

All I can say is, I have fallen in love with travel. We have been in Ecuador’s capital city for not even a week, and I feel like I have experienced so many new things in a very short time.

I’ve stood on the equator, entered the most beautiful churches I have ever seen, photographed a 150 year old shrunken head, and been 4,100 meters above sea level – all in three days!

We are all very tired. Luke, Karlie and Lydia are all sleeping as I write this. We have walked many kilometers around Quito, and even visited a zoo out of town.

Tomorrow, the plan is to visit a natural hot spring.

I am in awe, and am realizing more and more how large this planet is – and how little I know about anything! It is humbling to say the least.

We are all working hard at learning basic Spanish. Far less people in Quito speak English than I expected. I am guessing as we venture out of the city, english will become even more scarce. But folks around the city have been very gracious with us, and always have a good laugh when we try to say little phrases.

We have felt very safe almost the entire time we have been here. Though, we did travel a little off the gringo path in Old Town- and I got kicked by an elderly lady. She was angry about something and Luke said “no hable espanol” and she went off and kicked me in the leg! We decided to head back and take a taxi up to where we wanted to go! My leg is okay ;D

I could ramble on and on, but would prefer to share some images from the past three days!

Thanks so much for reading! If you haven’t already done so, you can subscribe to the blog via email and get updates of our trip throughout. I will try my best to share interesting things!

Taxi-Cab-Quito.jpg

Quito-Street-Photography.jpg

Old-Town-Quito.jpg

Street-Photos-Quito-Ecuador.jpg

Virgen-Of-Quito.jpg

Lady-Selling.jpg

Ecuador-Quito-Church.jpg

b&w-quito-church.jpg

Good_Smile.jpg

Quito_rooftop.jpg

Beautiful-Catholic-Church-Quito.jpg

Telefonica-Quito.jpg

Equator_Ecuador.jpg

7 Responses to “Ecuador: Quito in 3 Days”

  1. Michael September 10, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh man those church pictures are gorgeous and I love the contrast of old world and new world in the first picture but most of all… Luke in that last picture just looks ridiculous. I can’t even describe him. Half surfer, half snowboarder. All man.

  2. Jaimie MacLeod September 11, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    Awesome update and pics!!!! Thinkin of you all, can’t wait to hear and see more! How’s the food??

  3. Sarah C September 11, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    GREAT photos! I met a girl the other day who lives and works in Toronto but her family is from Quito and she grew up there! Super jealous you got to stand on the equator! 🙂

  4. Ron September 11, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Well, I wish I was there for the leg kicking… any video footage of that? Have a great time. We’re only passing this way once, you might as well remember it (and enjoy it!).

  5. michele sommers October 2, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Your photos are awesome Cole! Steve & I are enjoying your pics very much!! Please be safe always ::))

    Aunt Michele

  6. canonphotographer December 27, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Nice Images!

  7. Cole Bennett December 27, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Thanks for the kind words guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

