The Art of getting Uncomfortable; My Dad calls it ‘Work’

8 Feb

Josh

The ‘L’ Word.

Growing up, it was instilled in me by my dad to avoid it. It’s warned about in the Bible. And it’s something that will kill any Artists dreams and aspirations.

Laziness.

It’s a stone cold killer.

And I don’t mean sleeping in one morning during the work week. Or, keeping a few dishes on the counter. Nah, that kind of stuff may be indicative of laziness – but that’s not the kind that will wreck a photographer, a web designer, or an oil painter.

The kind of laziness I’m talking about is established in being comfortable. Comfortable with your results.

Yes, it’s important as a photographer to acquire the ability to work in a range of difficult lighting conditions, time constraints, and one chance photo shoots. However, at the end of 2012, I want to look back and see dozens of images where I spent an extra ten minutes setting up an additional light, attempting new Photoshop techniques, scouting more interesting locations – stepping out of what many have called “the comfort zone.”

Of course, as Photographers we’re all working towards *discovering* our own style. Something that sets us apart. And that is an incredibly important part of developing as an artist. But let’s agree to not get too attached to that one Photoshop technique we’ve snuggled up to lately, or that epic lighting diagram we discovered last year.

I’m going to show (those who are interested) what I did to create this photo. It isn’t a particularly edgy image. But it’s a lot different than my usual approach, and it was exciting for me to try something out of the ordinary. Out of the ordinary for me.

I would be stoked to hear your plans to swerve the car of your Creatomobile this year. Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Tweet. Let’s share some ideas for changing it up.

Here’s the Nerd Recipe

– My usual tools of the Nikon D300, 35mm 1.8, SB600 and two LP160 flash units.

– Graduated Neutral Density Filter. This allowed me to shoot in broad day light, with a shallow depth of field. I use this filter for video. I admit this is the first time I pulled it out for stills.

– Two pieces of foam core, cut and wrapped around two LP160 flash units to work as a kind of snoot. A little less spot lightish in effect, but very close, and very cheap.

– A dash of fill light from a bare bulb, on camera SB600 flash.

Thanks for reading my blog!

Foam Core Snoots

2 Responses to “The Art of getting Uncomfortable; My Dad calls it ‘Work’”

  1. Tami June 25, 2017 at 7:42 pm #

    Ꭲhanks a bunch for sharing this with all of
    us you actually ҝnow what you are talking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindlу also visit my ѕite =). We may have a Һyperlink сhange agreement among us

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Editorial Photography: Orillia Yoga Instructor « - February 11, 2012

    […] the topic of my last blog post, which was essentially me blabbing on about changing it up with lighting, I had the greatest […]

Leave a Reply

